Kayak and raft ubaye

What are the differences between Kayaking and Rafting?

The difference between kayaking and rafting in Barcelonnette

How to differentiate Kayaking from Rafting? 

Your next sporting escapade is on the horizon, but one question persists: how to differentiate Kayaking from Rafting? Yes, when you are a novice, it is not easy to understand what distinguishes these 2 water sports. To help you choose between these activities, we have listed no less than 5 differences between Kayaking and Rafting. 

Equipment and boat

Inflatable kayak Marseille

Kayak

First difference and not the least: equipment and boat in herself. THEkayak is presented in the form of a narrow and streamlined boat. It can be designed for 1 to 2 kayakers, or even more in competition. This boat is generally made of plastic, fiberglass or composite materials to provide both lightness and durability. It is propelled using a double or single paddle, depending on the paddler's preferences, the type of river and the morphology of the boat. There is something for every taste !

Rafting

Rafting

Rafting, for its part, is a inflatable raft, much larger than the kayak and generally made from PVC, a robust material resistant to the obstacles of the river. These boats can accommodate up to 8 or 10 people and are propelled using single paddles. They are equipped with handles and ropes for stability and maneuverability in rough waters like those of Ubaye. Also on board is a experienced guide who directs the raft and ensures everyone's safety. Speaking of experienced professionals, have you met our Crazy Water team

The browsing experience 

Second notable difference between kayaking and rafting: the browsing experience. The feeling of sailing in a kayak is often described as an intimate experience with water. These boats being small size and handy, paddlers can skillfully navigate through rapids and obstacles and feel every movement of the water until they become perfectly one with this element. Tempting isn't it? They allow a direct interaction with currents, waves and rapids. Each paddle stroke influences the direction and speed of the kayak, providing an immersive and challenging experience. 

The raft, a larger and more stable boat, offers collective experience. Opting for this activity is the promise of enjoying a unique social dynamic, ideal for groups and families. The paddlers, perched on their inflatable tubes, are in less direct contact with the water and can have an adventure more detached from the elements, without losing sensations. 

👉 Read also : Rafting Ubaye or Durance? 

The technical level required

The technical level required for kayaking is not the same as that required for rafting. In view of the differences already mentioned, you will undoubtedly have understood that the kayaking generally requires a higher technical level than rafting. This activity requires a good coordination as well as a paddle mastery. To this is sometimes added the need to know how to read the river to anticipate currents and obstacles. The most experienced kayakers should definitely master skimming in other words, being able to turn the boat over after capsizing, and all this, without leaving their seat.

Rafting is considered a more accessible sport. On board this boat, even beginners can tackle the turbulent waves of the Ubaye river. The raft is led by an experienced guide. Participants therefore do not need to master advanced navigation techniques. The reading of the river, the direction and coordination of the team rest largely on the guide. Rafting is ideal for anyone looking for a white water sports and fun activity without having to invest a lot of time in learning specific skills. 

The intensity of the adventure

These two activities also differ in terms of intensity. The kayak can provide an experience more intense and personal. These boats are often used on a wider variety of waterways. You can navigate both a calm river and turbulent class IV and V rapids. Whatever your skill level, you are directly confronted with the forces of nature and refuel adventure and thrills.

Less individual and less technical, rafting can also offer moments of intense adrenaline. By opting for this type of boat, you will have access to class IV and V rapids that you certainly couldn't have kayaked down. You will be accompanied by a river expert and will only have to exert yourself in enjoying the sensations offered by the rough waters and the beauty of the landscapes.

👉 Read also : Rafting in the Hautes-Alpes: the best spots to considerr

The cost

In general, kayaking is often more accessible in terms of cost. Individual kayaks are generally less expensive to purchase or rent than rafts, and many rivers are accessible experienced kayakers who wish to travel independently.  

Rafting will be more suitable for those looking for a guided and safe experience. Many companies offer rafting trips at reasonable rates, making it a attractive option for beginners and groups.

Although different, kayaking and rafting have at least one thing in common, that of offering you a unforgettable and sensational experience surrounded by nature. You are now familiar with each of these activities, which of them will appeal to you? 
If despite this information you remain undecided, know that Crazy Water offers you the opportunity to discover the Kayak-Raft (Hot Dog) and the PackRaft, the perfect compromise between these 2 activities.

Caroline Aalbers
Caroline Aalbers
2023-07-29
Wat een geweldige ervaring, raften over de Ubaye! Prachtige natuur, mooie afwisselende tocht (inclusief zwemmen en in het water springen!) en geschikt voor elk niveau. Onze kinderen (6 en 9 jaar) hebben een super eerste raft ervaring gehad, mede dankzij onze leuke en goede gids. Ze willen zeker nog een keer :-)
Ziga Budja
Ziga Budja
2023-07-12
Wonderfull family rafting experience. Just a little bit too much for my sensitive eight year old, but great overall. The river is beautiful with nice surroundings. The guide was excellent (forgot his name 🙄) and the whole team was very nice. The trip down the river took about one and a half hour with some stops. If you visit this place, your're not gonna be sorry! 👍🏻
Fred
Fred
2023-05-13
Un lieu calme et agréable, accueillit par une équipe sympathique. Mise à disposition du barbecue pour le repas du midi avant le rafting. Tout est là pour votre bonheur.
Jerome Henry
Jerome Henry
2022-08-16
Merci @CrazyWaterRafting pour les moments géniaux en famille. Nous avons fait rafting, rando aquatique et kayak avec 2 adultes et 2 ados : génial !! Guides super sympa, très pro, Contrairement à ce que l'on entend a la télé, le niveau d'eau dans cette rivière et plus que suffisant pour s'éclater ! Nb: la rando aquatique n'est pas très connue mais super aussi, descente de la rivière en nageant, dans un secteur plus calme que celui pour le rafting. Explication sur la nature, superbe paysages, surprise à la fin... Encore merci. Jérôme, Caroline, Charlotte et Manon.
Shameer Habibi
Shameer Habibi
2021-07-29
Really fun, and a really good guide! Overall amazing
Melanie Macias
Melanie Macias
2020-06-06
Top top top
Lorenzo Van Loon
Lorenzo Van Loon
2019-08-02
We did two descents, one by raft and one by kayak, both with Julien as a guide. He seems totally crazy when you first meet him, but he was a great guide and made our day. Really spectacular river, with a lot of rapids and great views. We got out of the boats to swim a bit in one of the rapids and they took us to a rock where we could jump in to the water. Julien and the crew of Crazy Water are real professionals, but in for a laugh and a joke. A pity we could'n do the 'sport' descent, because of bad weather. But we sure come back. One remark; their 'bar' is quite empty, so make sure to bring your own drinks and food if you're planning to stay for a day.
verriez virginie
verriez virginie
2019-06-14
Top

Kayak et raft ubaye

Quelles différences entre le Kayak et le Rafting ?

La différence entre le kayak et le raft à Barcelonnette

Comment différencier le Kayak du Rafting ? 

Votre prochaine escapade sportive se dessine à l’horizon, mais une question persiste : comment différencier le Kayak du Rafting ? Eh oui, quand on est novice, il n’est pas évident de comprendre ce qui distingue ces 2 sports nautiques. Pour vous aider à faire votre choix entre ces activités, nous avons listé pas moins de 5 différences entre le Kayak et le Rafting. 

L’équipement et l’embarcation

Kayak gonflable Marseille

Kayak

Première différence et non des moindres : l’équipement et l’embarcation en elle-même. Lekayak se présente sous la forme d’un bateau étroit et profilé. Il peut être conçu pour 1 pour 2 kayakistes, voire plus en compétition. Cette embarcation est généralement fabriquée en plastique, en fibre de verre ou en matériaux composites pour offrir à la fois légèreté et durabilité. Elle est propulsée à l’aide d’une pagaie double ou simple, selon les préférences du pagayeur, le type de rivière et la morphologie du bateau. Il y en a pour tous les goûts !

Rafting

Rafting

Le rafting, quant à lui, est un radeau gonflable, beaucoup plus grand que le kayak et généralement fabriqué à partir de PVC, une matière robuste résistant aux obstacles de la rivière. Ces embarcations peuvent accueillir jusqu’à 8 ou 10 personnes et sont propulsées à l’aide de pagaies simples. Elles sont équipées de poignées et de cordes pour la stabilité et la manœuvrabilité dans des eaux agitées comme celles de l’Ubaye. À bord se trouve également un guide expérimenté qui dirige le raft et s’assure de la sécurité de chacun. En parlant de professionnels expérimentés, avez-vous fait la connaissance de notre équipe Crazy Water 

L’expérience de navigation 

Deuxième différence notable entre le kayak et le rafting : l’expérience de navigation. La sensation de naviguer dans un kayak est souvent décrite comme une expérience intime avec l’eau. Ces bateaux étant de petite taille et maniables, les pagayeurs peuvent naviguer habilement à travers les rapides et les obstacles et ressentir chaque mouvement de l’eau jusqu’à faire parfaitement corps avec cet élément. Tentant n’est-ce pas? Ils permettent une interaction directe avec les courants, les vagues et les rapides. Chaque coup de pagaie influence la direction et la vitesse du kayak, offrant une expérience immersive et stimulante. 

Le raft, embarcation plus volumineuse et plus stable, offre une expérience collective. Opter pour cette activité, c’est la promesse de profiter d’une dynamique sociale unique, idéale pour les groupes et les familles. Les pagayeurs, perchés sur leurs boudins gonflables, sont moins en contact direct avec l’eau et peuvent avoir une aventure plus détachée des éléments, sans pour autant perdre en sensations. 

👉 À lire aussi : Rafting Ubaye ou Durance ? 

Le niveau technique requis

Le niveau technique requis pour le kayak n’est pas le même que celui demandé pour la pratique du rafting. Au vu des différences déjà évoquées, vous aurez sans doute compris que le kayak exige généralement un niveau technique plus élevé que le rafting. Cette activité exige une bonne coordination ainsi qu’une maîtrise de la pagaie. À cela s’ajoute parfois la nécessité de savoir lire la rivière pour anticiper les courants et les obstacles. Les kayakistes les plus expérimentés doivent impérativement maîtriser l’esquimautage autrement dit être capable de retourner le bateau après avoir chaviré, et tout cela, sans quitter leur siège.

Le rafting est considéré comme un sport plus accessible. À bord de cette embarcation, même les débutants peuvent se lancer à l’assaut des flots mouvementés de la rivière Ubaye. Le raft est dirigé par un guide expérimenté. Les participants n’ont donc pas besoin de maîtriser des techniques de navigation avancées. La lecture de la rivière, la direction et la coordination de l’équipe reposent en grande partie sur le guide. Le rafting est idéal pour tous ceux qui recherchent une activité sportive et ludique en eau vive sans avoir à investir beaucoup de temps dans l’apprentissage de compétences spécifiques. 

L’intensité de l’aventure

Ces deux activités diffèrent également en termes d’intensité. Le kayak peut offrir une expérience plus intense et personnelle. Ces embarcations sont souvent utilisées sur une plus grande variété de cours d’eau. Vous pouvez naviguer aussi bien sur une rivière calme que sur des rapides tumultueux de classe IV et V. Quel que soit votre niveau de compétence, vous êtes directement confronté aux forces de la nature et faites le plein d’aventure et de sensations fortes.

Moins individuel et moins technique, le rafting peut également offrir des moments d’adrénaline intense. En optant pour ce type d’embarcation, vous aurez accès à des rapides de classe IV et V que vous n’auriez certainement pas pu descendre en kayak. Vous serez accompagné d’un expert de la rivière et n’aurez plus qu’à vous dépenser en profitant des sensations offertes par les eaux agitées et de la beauté des paysages.

👉 À lire aussi : Rafting dans les Hautes-Alpes : les meilleurs spots à considérer

Le coût

En général, le kayak est souvent plus accessible en termes de coût. Les kayaks individuels sont généralement moins chers à acheter ou à louer que les rafts, et de nombreux cours d’eau sont accessibles aux kayakistes expérimentés qui souhaitent se balader en autonomie.  

Le rafting conviendra davantage à ceux qui recherchent une expérience guidée et sécurisée. De nombreuses entreprises proposent des excursions de rafting à des tarifs raisonnables, ce qui en fait une option attrayante pour les débutants et les groupes.

Bien que différents, le kayak et le rafting ont au moins un point commun, celui de vous offrir une expérience inoubliable et sensationnelle en pleine nature. Vous voilà maintenant familier avec chacune de ces activités, laquelle d’entre elles saura vous séduire ? 
Si malgré ces informations vous restez indécis, sachez que Crazy Water vous offre la possibilité de découvrir le Kayak-Raft (Hot-Dog) et le PackRaft, le compromis parfait entre ces 2 activités.

Caroline Aalbers
Caroline Aalbers
2023-07-29
Wat een geweldige ervaring, raften over de Ubaye! Prachtige natuur, mooie afwisselende tocht (inclusief zwemmen en in het water springen!) en geschikt voor elk niveau. Onze kinderen (6 en 9 jaar) hebben een super eerste raft ervaring gehad, mede dankzij onze leuke en goede gids. Ze willen zeker nog een keer :-)
Ziga Budja
Ziga Budja
2023-07-12
Wonderfull family rafting experience. Just a little bit too much for my sensitive eight year old, but great overall. The river is beautiful with nice surroundings. The guide was excellent (forgot his name 🙄) and the whole team was very nice. The trip down the river took about one and a half hour with some stops. If you visit this place, your're not gonna be sorry! 👍🏻
Fred
Fred
2023-05-13
Un lieu calme et agréable, accueillit par une équipe sympathique. Mise à disposition du barbecue pour le repas du midi avant le rafting. Tout est là pour votre bonheur.
Jerome Henry
Jerome Henry
2022-08-16
Merci @CrazyWaterRafting pour les moments géniaux en famille. Nous avons fait rafting, rando aquatique et kayak avec 2 adultes et 2 ados : génial !! Guides super sympa, très pro, Contrairement à ce que l'on entend a la télé, le niveau d'eau dans cette rivière et plus que suffisant pour s'éclater ! Nb: la rando aquatique n'est pas très connue mais super aussi, descente de la rivière en nageant, dans un secteur plus calme que celui pour le rafting. Explication sur la nature, superbe paysages, surprise à la fin... Encore merci. Jérôme, Caroline, Charlotte et Manon.
Shameer Habibi
Shameer Habibi
2021-07-29
Really fun, and a really good guide! Overall amazing
Melanie Macias
Melanie Macias
2020-06-06
Top top top
Lorenzo Van Loon
Lorenzo Van Loon
2019-08-02
We did two descents, one by raft and one by kayak, both with Julien as a guide. He seems totally crazy when you first meet him, but he was a great guide and made our day. Really spectacular river, with a lot of rapids and great views. We got out of the boats to swim a bit in one of the rapids and they took us to a rock where we could jump in to the water. Julien and the crew of Crazy Water are real professionals, but in for a laugh and a joke. A pity we could'n do the 'sport' descent, because of bad weather. But we sure come back. One remark; their 'bar' is quite empty, so make sure to bring your own drinks and food if you're planning to stay for a day.
verriez virginie
verriez virginie
2019-06-14
Top