Discover the Hydrospeed in Ubaye in the Barcelonnette valley

Hydrospeed / White water swimming on the Ubaye

Come and discover unforgettable hydrospeed sensations in the Barcelonnette valley! Dive into the Ubaye and enjoy the joys of swimming and surfing.

Hydrospeed/White water swimming on the Ubaye – Alpes-de-Haute-Provence – Barcelonnette

If you are looking for a sensational aquatic activity in Provence Alpes Côtes d'Azur, Hydrospeed/Whitewater Swimming on the Ubaye is the experience for you! This outdoor activity is very popular with white water sports enthusiasts and nature lovers.

See you at Lauzet 04340 in Crazy Water!

Special EVG EVJF formula, group rates from 10 people: holiday camps, associations, works councils, etc.

Hydrospeed descent on the Ubaye

Hydrospeed Best Of

50€/pers.

2 hours

6 km

Come discover or improve your skills in Hydrospeed on the legendary Lauzet Ubaye course.

  • Gorges and Roman Bridge
  • Surfing ~ Eskimoaut ~ Roc 360
  • Playful ~ Fun
  • Departure times: 9:15 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. – 1:45 p.m. – 3:45 p.m.
Hydrospeed at Lauzet Ubaye near Barcelonnette passage under the Roman bridge

Family Hydrospeed

45€/pers.*

2 hours

6 km

*Family rate for 2 adults and 2 children at €180.

Dive in as a family with this safe and fun water activity! White water swimming is also for children.

  • From 10 years old
  • Gorges and Roman Bridge
  • Surfing ~ Eskimoaut ~ Roc 360
  • Departure times: 11:15 a.m. – 1:45 p.m. – 3:45 p.m.
White water swimming or Hydrospeed on the Ubaye in the shark tooth rapids

Hydrospeed Sport

60€/pers.

2 hours

4 km

This is the ultra-sporty descent on the famous Ex Infranchissables du Haut course.

  • Expert level
  • Category V rapids
  • Sporty & Intense
  • 2 people / Instructors
  • Departure times: 9:15 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. – 1:45 p.m. – 3:45 p.m.
Equipment for Hydrospeed on the Ubaye

What equipment to do hydrospeed on the Ubaye?

  • 5 min neoprene jacket
  • Reinforced neoprene pants
  • Vest & Helmet
  • Float (Hydrospeed)
  • A pair of fins

Bring a swimsuit, towel and a little snack. Hydrospeed makes you hungry!

About our hydrospeed courses

Hydrospeed in our Barcelonnette valley is an experience full of emotions and sensations. It's a completely free aquatic activity, you explore a wild river, in the middle of the mountains. It is also a simple and fun access, for sensations of sliding and surfing in the river.

You navigate according to your desires, while being supervised by a qualified Hydrospeed / Whitewater swimming instructor, who reassures you and advises you.

Crazy Water's favorite option: It's the multi-activity combo Rafting And Hydrospeed, for a more beautiful approach to our river!

White water swimming in Barcelonnette

White water swimming: Hydrospeed

Equipped with a pair of fins, a reinforced wetsuit and a foam float called hydrospeed, you descend the river at the water's edge on a suitable route. Located between Barcelonnette and the lake of Serre-Ponçon, you explore the wild and invigorating Ubaye river.

Accompanied by a river guide, the white water swimming or thehydrospeed is a fun, sensational activity, with a touch of technique. You will quickly find autonomy and ease of navigation, which will allow you to play with the currents.

The Ubaye river in the Southern Alps

The Ubaye Serre-Ponçon Valley is “the place to be” for white water sports activities. It is 50 km navigable, in an incredibly wild and preserved nature. Ubaye is really suitable for hydrospeed descents, rafting and air kayaking, due to its unique playground. In fact, it is not subject to the constraints of a hydraulic dam and it flows naturally all year round. The Lauzet course, which we call the Hydrospeed Best of Course, is a sensational adventure in the heart of the most beautiful rapids in the Barcelonnette Valley.

Hydrospeed Special FAQ

Can you go whitewater swimming with a child?

The conditions for a family descent in Hydrospeed:

Hydrospeed on the Ubaye is possible from 10 years old, depending on the size of the child, like adults on the Best Of course to Lauzet.

He must obviously be a good swimmer, dynamic and in good physical condition. Experience using fins in a swimming pool or at sea is preferred.

Hydrospeed group in the Alps on the Ubaye River

How does a Hydrospeed descent work?

But how does a Hydrospeed activity take place on the Ubaye? First of all, you will be equipped with a thick neoprene suit, reinforced at the legs, a life jacket and a helmet for your safety. You will also receive neoprene socks, fins that fit your size, and a foam board that will allow you to float and navigate the river.

Once equipped, you will be supervised by an experienced guide who will give you safety instructions and teach you the basic techniques for steering your hydrospeed and passing rapids. You can then begin your white water swimming descent on the Ubaye, following the current of the river and surfing the waves.

Crazy Water Rafting organizes descents in groups of a maximum of 6 people per guide, for a better educational approach.

You will pass through areas of calm, but also through rapids and dizzying descents that will make you shiver with excitement. You can even do jumps from rocks to add a little spice to your hydrospeed descent. Obviously, we will adapt the level of difficulty according to your abilities.

If you are a family with children wanting to discover white water swimming, or a fearful beginner with no experience in hydrospeed, your guide will choose the appropriate route and will keep you safe throughout the descent. If you are a sporty person looking for thrills, your guide will help you discover the strength of the Ubaye River with its many rapids.

Can we do whitewater courses on theUbaye, Southern Alps

For the lucky ones who want to make the most of aquatic activities during their stay, we offer Multi-activity packages. The Ubaye is navigated from Barcelonnette via Lauzet and up to Lake Serre Ponçon, with courses for all levels.

You choose your boat: Hydrospeed, Air Kayak, Aquatic Adventure or Rafting and we offer courses adapted to your level. All Ubaye river courses are between 5 and 15 minutes by shuttle from our Crazy Water base in Lauzet. During the course, you will be supervised by the same river guide, for quality support. Groups are made up of a maximum of 6 people for Hydro and Air Kayak and 8 people for Rafting and Aquatic Adventure.

We love sharing these whitewater courses with you because we spend more time together and can bring a more complete experience of the Ubaye and river activities.

Take advantage of this opportunity and book your whitewater course now by contacting us by telephone at 06.87.53.87.98

What is the best white water swimming base in Ubaye?

Already 13 years old, we are a Rafting base in the Barcelonnette Valley, of medium size, with a very good reputation. Family, we like to call ourselves the “Crazy Family”, which represents the team atmosphere well! River guides, reception secretary and shuttle driver, we are all here to offer you the best possible experience! The atmosphere is very welcoming, friendly and fun, but we do not skimp on safety and good quality equipment! We are ideally located, very close to the legendary Ubaye route, to limit shuttle travel times.

Do not hesitate to contact us by telephone or come directly to see us at the Crazy Water Rafting reception base, route du Villard, 04340 in Lauzet Ubaye. It's very easy to find us, we are at the entrance to the village, on the side of the road, if you are arriving from Gap Serre-Ponçon in the direction of Barcelonnette. And at the exit of the village, if you leave Barcelonnette, towards Gap Serre-Ponçon.

River sledding and Aqua Splash?

Hydrospeed as well as white water swimming are the real terms of aquatic activity on the river, with a directional board and fins. This activity is practiced on natural rivers in the mountains or in artificial basins, often close to towns. In the “jargon” of the world of white water sports, we also like to call it river sledding Or Aqua Splash. It is obviously under the theme of mood because a hydrospeed is not a sled and the Aqua Splash is a leisure park on lakes or in a swimming pool. It's not exactly the same thing !

What is the difference between Floating and Hydrospeed on the Ubaye River?

“Floating” is the term in English which means to float. We practice it on the Ubaye in the summer, when the water level allows us, that is to say when the water level is low. We offer it at Crazy Water Rafting under the name Aventure Aquatique. Floating is a true wilderness exploration, an incredible activity that allows you to visit the riverside and swim in the currents and natural pools. You are equipped with a neoprene suit and your own sneakers. We can compare Floating to canyoning, but horizontal!

Hydrospeed is an activity in its own right, where you go down the river using your board and fins. It is an official sport, which is practiced in the most beautiful rivers and allows you to cross large rapids. Hydrospeed competitions are even organized, notably the French Extreme Hydrospeed Championships, every two years. In the Ubaye Valley, we have the reigning world champion and a Hydrospeed world champion as river guides! This is to tell you that the Ubaye is “THE” French river par excellence for white water swimming!

Ubaye hydrospeed in pictures

Caroline Aalbers
Caroline Aalbers
2023-07-29
Wat een geweldige ervaring, raften over de Ubaye! Prachtige natural, mooie afwisselende tocht (inclusief zwemmen en in het water springen!) en geschikt voor elk level. Eleven children (6 in 9 years) have a super eerste raft ervaring gehad, mede dankzij onze leuke en goede gids. You will not be able to do anything :-)
Ziga Budja
Ziga Budja
2023-07-12
Wonderful family rafting experience. Just a little bit too much for my sensitive eight year old, but great overall. The river is beautiful with nice surroundings. The guide was excellent (forgot his name 🙄) and the whole team was very nice. The trip down the river took about one and a half hour with some stops. If you visit this place, your're not gonna be sorry! 👍🏻
Fred
Fred
2023-05-13
A calm and pleasant place, welcomed by a friendly team. Barbecue available for lunch before rafting. Everything is there for your happiness.
Jerome Henry
Jerome Henry
2022-08-16
Thanks @CrazyWaterRafting for the awesome family times. We did rafting, water hiking and kayaking with 2 adults and 2 teenagers: great!! Super friendly, very professional guides. Contrary to what you hear on TV, the water level in this river is more than enough to have fun! Nb: the aquatic hike is not very well known but also great, descending the river while swimming, in a quieter area than that for rafting. Explanation on nature, superb landscapes, surprise at the end... Thank you again. Jérôme, Caroline, Charlotte and Manon.
Shameer Habibi
Shameer Habibi
2021-07-29
Really fun, and a really good guide! Overall amazing
Melanie Macias
Melanie Macias
2020-06-06
Top top top
Lorenzo Van Loon
Lorenzo Van Loon
2019-08-02
We did two descents, one by raft and one by kayak, both with Julien as a guide. He seems totally crazy when you first meet him, but he was a great guide and made our day. Really spectacular river, with a lot of rapids and great views. We got out of the boats to swim a bit in one of the rapids and they took us to a rock where we could jump in to the water. Julien and the crew of Crazy Water are real professionals, but in for a laugh and a joke. A pity we could'n do the 'sport' descent, because of bad weather. But we sure come back. One remark; their 'bar' is quite empty, so make sure to bring your own drinks and food if you're planning to stay for a day.
would you see virginia
would you see virginia
2019-06-14
top

Découvrez l'Hydrospeed en Ubaye dans la vallée de Barcelonnette

Hydrospeed / Nage en eau vive sur l’Ubaye

Venez découvrir des sensations inoubliables en hydrospeed dans la vallée de Barcelonnette ! Plongez dans l'Ubaye et profitez des joies de la nage et du surf.

Hydrospeed/Nage en eau vive sur l’Ubaye – Alpes-de-Haute-Provence – Barcelonnette

Si vous cherchez une activité aquatique sensationnelle en Provence Alpes Côtes d’Azur, l’Hydrospeed/Nage en eau vive sur l’Ubaye est l’expérience qu’il vous faut ! Cette activité de plein air est très prisée des amateurs de sports d’eau vive et des amoureux de la nature.

Rendez vous au Lauzet 04340 à Crazy Water !

Formule spéciale EVG EVJF, tarifs de groupe à partir de 10 pers : colonies de vacances, associations, comités d’entreprise etc…

Descente en hydrospeed sur l'Ubaye

Hydrospeed Best Of

50€/pers.

2 heures

6 km

Venez découvrir ou vous perfectionner en Hydrospeed sur le parcours mythique du Lauzet Ubaye.

  • Gorges et Pont Roman
  • Surf ~ Esquimautage ~ Roc 360
  • Ludique ~ Fun
  • Horaires de départ : 9h15 – 11h15 – 13h45 – 15h45
Hydrospeed au lauzet Ubaye proche de Barcelonnette passage sous le pont roman

Hydrospeed en Famille

45€/pers.*

2 heures

6 km

*Tarif Famille pour 2 adultes et 2 enfants à 180€.

Plongez en famille avec cette activité aquatique sûre et amusante ! La nage en eau vive, c’est aussi pour les enfants.

  • A partir de 10 ans
  • Gorges et Pont Roman
  • Surf ~ Esquimautage ~ Roc 360
  • Horaires de départ : 11h15 – 13h45 – 15h45
La nage en eau vive ou l'Hydrospeed sur l'Ubaye dans le rapide de la dent du requin

Hydrospeed Sport

60€/pers.

2 heures

4 km

C’est la descente ultra sportive sur le fameux parcours des Ex Infranchissables du Haut.

  • Niveau expert
  • Rapides de catégorie V
  • Sportif & Intense
  • 2 personnes / Moniteurs
  • Horaires de départ : 9h15 – 11h15 – 13h45 – 15h45
Equipement pour l'Hydrospeed sur l'Ubaye

Quels équipements pour faire de l’hydrospeed sur l’Ubaye ?

  • Veste néoprène 5 mn
  • Pantalon néoprène renforcé
  • Gilet& Casque
  • Flotteur (Hydrospeed)
  • Une paire de palmes

Prévoir maillot de bain, serviette et un p’tit goûter. L’hydrospeed donne faim !

À propos de nos parcours d’hydrospeed

L’hydrospeed dans notre vallée de Barcelonnette est une expérience forte en émotions et en sensations. C’est une activité aquatique en totale liberté, vous explorez une rivière sauvage, en pleine montagne. C’est aussi un accès simple et ludique, pour des sensations de glisse et de surf en rivière.

Vous naviguez au gré de vos envies, tout en étant encadré par un moniteur qualifié en Hydrospeed / Nage en eau vive, qui vous sécurise et vous conseille.

L’option préférée de Crazy Water : C’est le combo multi activité Rafting et Hydrospeed, pour une plus belle approche de notre rivière !

Nage en eau vive à Barcelonnette

Nage en eau vive : l’Hydrospeed

Équipé d’une paire de palmes, d’une combinaison renforcée et d’un flotteur en mousse appelé hydrospeed, vous descendez la rivière à fleur d’eau sur un parcours adapté. Situé entre Barcelonnette et le lac de Serre-Ponçon, vous explorez la rivière de l’Ubaye, sauvage et tonifiante.

Accompagné d’un guide de rivière, la nage en eau vive ou l’hydrospeed est une activité ludique, sensationnelle, avec une pointe de technique. Vous trouverez vite une autonomie et une facilité à naviguer, qui vous permettra de jouer avec les courants.

La rivière de l’Ubaye dans les Alpes du Sud

La Vallée de l’Ubaye Serre-Ponçon est « the place to be » pour les activités de sport d’eau vive. C’est 50 Km navigables, dans une nature incroyablement sauvage et préservée. L’Ubaye est vraiment adapté aux descentes en hydrospeed, rafting et kayak air, de part son terrain de jeu unique. En effet, elle n’est pas soumise aux contraintes d’un barrage hydraulique et elle coule naturellement toute l’année. Le parcours du Lauzet, que nous appelons le Parcours Hydrospeed Best of, est une aventure sensationnelle au cœur des plus beaux rapides de la Vallée de Barcelonnette.

FAQ spéciale Hydrospeed

Est-ce qu’on peut faire de la nage en eau vive avec un enfant ?

Les conditions pour une descente famille en Hydrospeed :

L’Hydrospeed sur l’Ubaye est possible à partir de 10 ans, selon le gabarit de l’enfant, comme les grands sur le parcours Best Of jusqu’au Lauzet.

Il doit évidement être bon nageur, dynamique et en bonne condition physique. Une expérience d’utilisation des palmes en piscine ou à la mer est préférable.

Groupe d'hydrospeed dans les Alpes sur la rivière Ubaye

Une descente en Hydrospeed, comment ça marche ?

Mais comment se déroule une activité Hydrospeed sur l’Ubaye ? Tout d’abord vous serez équipés d’une combinaison néoprène épaisse, renforcée au niveau des jambes, d’un gilet de sauvetage et d’un casque pour votre sécurité. Vous recevrez également des chaussettes en néoprène, des palmes à votre taille et une planche en mousse qui vous permettra de flotter et de vous diriger dans la rivière.

Une fois équipé, vous serez encadrés par un guide expérimenté qui vous donnera des instructions de sécurité et vous apprendra les techniques de base pour diriger votre hydrospeed et passer des rapides. Vous pourrez alors commencer votre descente de nage en eau vive sur l’Ubaye, en suivant le courant de la rivière et en surfant les vagues.

Crazy Water Rafting organise des descentes en groupe de 6 personnes maximum par guide, pour une meilleure approche pédagogique.

Vous passerez par des zones de calme, mais aussi par des rapides et des descentes vertigineuses qui vous feront frissonner d’excitations. Vous pourrez même faire des sauts depuis des rochers pour ajouter un peu de piment à votre descente en hydrospeed. Evidemment, nous adapterons le niveau de difficultés en fonction de vos capacités.

Si vous êtes une famille avec enfants voulant découvrir l’activité nage en eau vive, ou bien un débutant craintif et sans aucune expérience en hydrospeed, votre guide choisira le parcours adapté et sera vous sécuriser tout au long de la descente. Si vous êtes une personne sportive à la recherche de sensations fortes, votre guide sera vous faire découvrir la force de la rivière Ubaye avec ses nombreux rapides.

Peut-on faire des stages en eau vive sur l’Ubaye, Alpes du Sud

Pour les chanceux qui veulent profiter un maximum des activités aquatiques durant leur séjour, nous proposons des formules Multi activités. L’Ubaye se navigue de Barcelonnette en passant par le Lauzet et jusqu’au lac de Serre Ponçon, avec des parcours tous niveaux.

Vous choisissez votre embarcation : Hydrospeed, Kayak air, Aventure Aquatique ou Rafting et nous proposons des parcours adaptés à votre niveau. Tous les parcours de la rivière de l’Ubaye sont entre 5 et 15 minutes en navette de notre base de Crazy Water au Lauzet. Durant le stage, vous serez encadrés par le même guide de rivière, pour un accompagnement de qualité. Les groupes sont composés de maximum 6 personnes pour l’hydro et le Kayak Air et 8 personnes pour le Rafting et l’Aventure Aquatique.

Nous aimons partager ces stages d’eau vive avec vous car nous passons plus de temps ensemble et pouvons apporter une expérience plus complète de l’Ubaye et des activités de rivière.

Profitez de cette occasion et réservez des maintenant votre stage en eau vive en nous contactant par téléphone au 06.87.53.87.98

Quelle est la meilleure base de nage en eau vive en Ubaye ?

Déjà 13 ans d’existence, nous sommes une base de Rafting dans la Vallée de Barcelonnette, de taille moyenne, avec une très bonne réputation. Familiale, nous aimons nous appeler la « Crazy Family », qui représente bien l’ambiance de l’équipe ! Guides de rivières, secrétaire accueil et conducteur de navette, nous sommes tous présents pour vous offrir la meilleure expérience possible ! L’atmosphère est très accueillante, amicale et fun, mais nous ne lésinons pas sur la sécurité et le matériel de bonne qualité ! Nous sommes idéalement situés, tout proche du parcours mythique de l’Ubaye, pour limiter les temps de trajet en navette.

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter par téléphone ou bien passer directement nous voir sur la base d’accueil de Crazy Water Rafting, route du Villard, 04340 au Lauzet Ubaye. C’est très facile de nous trouver, nous sommes à l’entrée du village, en bord de route, si vous arrivez de Gap Serre-Ponçon en direction de Barcelonnette. Et à la sortie du village, si vous partez de Barcelonnette, en direction de Gap Serre-Ponçon.

Luge de rivière et Aqua Splash ?

L’hydrospeed ainsi que la nage en eau vive sont les vrais termes de l’activité aquatique sur la rivière, avec une planche directionnelle et des palmes. Cette activité se pratique sur des rivières naturelles en montagne ou bien dans des bassins artificiels, souvent proche des villes. Dans le « jargon » du milieu des sports d’eau vive, nous aimons l’appeler également luge de rivière ou Aqua Splash. C’est bien évidemment sous le thème de l’humeur car un hydrospeed n’est pas une luge et l’Aqua Splash est un parc de loisirs sur des lacs ou en piscine. Ce n’est pas tout à fait la même chose !

Quel est la différence entre le Floating et l’Hydrospeed sur la rivière de l’Ubaye ?

Le « Floating » est le terme en anglais qui veut dire flotter. Nous le pratiquons sur l’Ubaye l’été, quand le niveau d’eau nous le permet, c’est à dire quand le niveau d’eau est bas. Nous le proposons chez Crazy Water Rafting sous le nom d’Aventure Aquatique. Le Floating est une véritable exploration en milieu sauvage, une activité incroyable qui vous permet de visiter les abords de la rivière et de nager dans les courants et les bassins naturels. Vous êtes équipés d’une combinaison néoprène et de vos propres baskets. Nous pouvons comparer le Floating à du canyoning, mais horizontal !

L’Hydrospeed est une activité à par entière, où vous descendez la rivière à l’aide de votre planche et de vos palmes. C’est un sport officiel, qui se pratique dans les plus belles rivières et permet de franchir de gros rapides. Des compétitons d’Hydrospeed sont même organisées, notamment les championnats de France d’Hydrospeed extrême, tous les deux ans. Dans la Vallée de l’Ubaye, nous avons le champion du monde en titre et une championne du monde d’Hydrospeed comme guides de rivières ! C’est pour vous dire que l’Ubaye est « LA » rivière française par excellence pour la nage en eau vive !

L’hydrospeed Ubaye en images

Caroline Aalbers
Caroline Aalbers
2023-07-29
Wat een geweldige ervaring, raften over de Ubaye! Prachtige natuur, mooie afwisselende tocht (inclusief zwemmen en in het water springen!) en geschikt voor elk niveau. Onze kinderen (6 en 9 jaar) hebben een super eerste raft ervaring gehad, mede dankzij onze leuke en goede gids. Ze willen zeker nog een keer :-)
Ziga Budja
Ziga Budja
2023-07-12
Wonderfull family rafting experience. Just a little bit too much for my sensitive eight year old, but great overall. The river is beautiful with nice surroundings. The guide was excellent (forgot his name 🙄) and the whole team was very nice. The trip down the river took about one and a half hour with some stops. If you visit this place, your're not gonna be sorry! 👍🏻
Fred
Fred
2023-05-13
Un lieu calme et agréable, accueillit par une équipe sympathique. Mise à disposition du barbecue pour le repas du midi avant le rafting. Tout est là pour votre bonheur.
Jerome Henry
Jerome Henry
2022-08-16
Merci @CrazyWaterRafting pour les moments géniaux en famille. Nous avons fait rafting, rando aquatique et kayak avec 2 adultes et 2 ados : génial !! Guides super sympa, très pro, Contrairement à ce que l'on entend a la télé, le niveau d'eau dans cette rivière et plus que suffisant pour s'éclater ! Nb: la rando aquatique n'est pas très connue mais super aussi, descente de la rivière en nageant, dans un secteur plus calme que celui pour le rafting. Explication sur la nature, superbe paysages, surprise à la fin... Encore merci. Jérôme, Caroline, Charlotte et Manon.
Shameer Habibi
Shameer Habibi
2021-07-29
Really fun, and a really good guide! Overall amazing
Melanie Macias
Melanie Macias
2020-06-06
Top top top
Lorenzo Van Loon
Lorenzo Van Loon
2019-08-02
We did two descents, one by raft and one by kayak, both with Julien as a guide. He seems totally crazy when you first meet him, but he was a great guide and made our day. Really spectacular river, with a lot of rapids and great views. We got out of the boats to swim a bit in one of the rapids and they took us to a rock where we could jump in to the water. Julien and the crew of Crazy Water are real professionals, but in for a laugh and a joke. A pity we could'n do the 'sport' descent, because of bad weather. But we sure come back. One remark; their 'bar' is quite empty, so make sure to bring your own drinks and food if you're planning to stay for a day.
verriez virginie
verriez virginie
2019-06-14
Top