Rafting course on the Ubaye – The Best-Of

The Best-Of course is our most popular rafting course in Ubaye. It's a discovery trail and we named it that because it represents all the best you can find on the Ubaye river. We tell you everything you need to know on this page!
Jumping from the rock during the rafting descent

Rafting descent on the Ubaye: the best route

The discovery descent is particularly suitable for all people who wish to discover white water sports on a natural river. Whether you are a beginner or with experience, this Class III & IV descent is for all levels and will delight everyone!

It is a route that offers breathtaking landscapes, with its majestic mountains, narrow gorges and crystal clear waters. It is in this exceptional valley that you can experience a dynamic rafting descent, discovering the rapids and landscapes of the Barcelonnette Valley.

Why the “Best Of” Course? This is the Ubaye discovery course that we like to call Best Of because it represents all the best you can find on the Ubaye river: The rapids to cross, the landscapes, the Lauzet gorges, the rock jumping and many other surprises!

Information on the Ubaye Discovery Route

From the village of Martinet to Le Lauzet, you discover the power of the river with a qualified rafting instructor (guide). It's a unique course where you swim in refreshing water and flirt with rocks, which makes the descent so fun.

For 9 km (1h30 of navigation), you appreciate the magnificent setting of the valley, as well as all its rapids (class III to IV). Stops are planned during the route: swimming in the river, discovery of the waterfall and rock jumping.

Laughter, pleasures and sensations guaranteed!

Rafting descent in Barcelonnette

The Best-Of course in pictures

What should you plan for the Rafting course on the Ubaye?

We organize the entire activity: shuttle to and from the river, guide support and complete rafting equipment. You just have to plan your swimsuit and towel. If you have water shoes or other sports shoes, it's good to take them, otherwise we can lend you some. Go Pro type cameras are allowed but at your own risk... the route is very eventful. We have Go Pro hooks on some of our helmets if you wish to use them. Think about scrunchies for long hair!

The rest of your personal effects will remain at the Crazy Water base, or in your vehicles.

What you need to know forrafting activity on the Ubaye

Welcome to our whitewater base

The meeting takes place at our base at Crazy Water in the village of Lauzet-Ubaye 04340, at the time reserved in advance. You can park in our upper car park for normal vehicles, and the lower car park for large vehicles (on the edge of the D 900).

You are ahead ? Take advantage of our welcoming eco-base, hammocks and outdoor lounges and treat yourself to a coffee at our Crazy refreshment bar!

Once at reception, the Crazy Water team gives you a neoprene suit, in your size, and the rest of the equipment: vest, helmet, etc. Equipped from head to toe, we take the mini-bus to at the start of the raft course.

Go on an adventure on the Ubaye in Rafting

After an explanatory briefing from your river guide, the activity begins.

On the program: 1h30 of sensational river descent, navigation on the Raft with paddles, splashing and laughing. During the discovery descent, to make the most of your white water experience, we organize stops at the edge of the river, in this wild nature: swimming activity in the river, walk to the waterfall and rock jumping. All this, supervised by your river guide, specialist in Ubaye. He will know how to give you a magical moment, with incredible sensations, while being in complete safety on the river.

The end of the rafting descent ends like a final bouquet, in the narrow and deep gorges du Lauzet, under the Roman Bridge, historic site of the Barcelonnette valley. Absolutely worth experiencing!

Well done Rafters!

When the route arrives at the village of Lauzet, the mini-bus will pick you up and take you back to the Crazy Water base (5 minutes journey). We can finally get dry and collect your belongings.

Before leaving, you will be able to view the photos taken by a professional photographer during the descent. It is possible to purchase them and leave with a photo file of the entire activity.

A mini refreshment bar is at your disposal to debrief after this great rafting adventure! You can enjoy our Crazy Water eco-base and relax in the hammocks or small outdoor lounges. In the village of Lauzet, you can eat in the various restaurants and snack bars, and swim in the magnificent little Lauzet lake. It's a perfect place to end the day in style!

Why choose Ubaye for rafting?

Ubaye is renowned for being the best Rafting spot in France, with its wild landscapes and courses of varying difficulty (from class II to class V). Whether you are a beginner or experienced, you will find courses adapted to your level and your desires. It is rare to find such a dynamic whitewater destination, with very varied and breathtaking landscapes. This is why the Ubaye is a legendary river for all white water enthusiasts. We organize whitewater courses to take advantage of the different courses offered by the Ubaye and the different boats such as the Hydrospeed and the Kayak Air Boat.

The Best Of discovery route remains the unmissable in Ubaye, a must-do!

When can we practice the Rafting Discovery course?

This river with natural flow allows for white water descents every day, from the beginning of April to the beginning of October. It's an incredible playground that we love to share with visitors.

The water levels change enormously between spring and summer with the river flooding, but we always manage to offer you a route adapted to your needs, whether you are a family, beginners or sports enthusiasts. If you want to understand the variations of the river and the different levels of the route, you will find all the answers on our website on the page Water level. Do not hesitate to contact us by telephone, we can be reached very easily, every day of the year.

Caroline Aalbers
Caroline Aalbers
2023-07-29
Wat een geweldige ervaring, raften over de Ubaye! Prachtige natural, mooie afwisselende tocht (inclusief zwemmen en in het water springen!) en geschikt voor elk level. Eleven children (6 in 9 years) have a super eerste raft ervaring gehad, mede dankzij onze leuke en goede gids. You will not be able to do anything :-)
Ziga Budja
Ziga Budja
2023-07-12
Wonderful family rafting experience. Just a little bit too much for my sensitive eight year old, but great overall. The river is beautiful with nice surroundings. The guide was excellent (forgot his name 🙄) and the whole team was very nice. The trip down the river took about one and a half hour with some stops. If you visit this place, your're not gonna be sorry! 👍🏻
Fred
Fred
2023-05-13
A calm and pleasant place, welcomed by a friendly team. Barbecue available for lunch before rafting. Everything is there for your happiness.
Jerome Henry
Jerome Henry
2022-08-16
Thanks @CrazyWaterRafting for the awesome family times. We did rafting, water hiking and kayaking with 2 adults and 2 teenagers: great!! Super friendly, very professional guides. Contrary to what you hear on TV, the water level in this river is more than enough to have fun! Nb: the aquatic hike is not very well known but also great, descending the river while swimming, in a quieter area than that for rafting. Explanation on nature, superb landscapes, surprise at the end... Thank you again. Jérôme, Caroline, Charlotte and Manon.
Shameer Habibi
Shameer Habibi
2021-07-29
Really fun, and a really good guide! Overall amazing
Melanie Macias
Melanie Macias
2020-06-06
Top top top
Lorenzo Van Loon
Lorenzo Van Loon
2019-08-02
We did two descents, one by raft and one by kayak, both with Julien as a guide. He seems totally crazy when you first meet him, but he was a great guide and made our day. Really spectacular river, with a lot of rapids and great views. We got out of the boats to swim a bit in one of the rapids and they took us to a rock where we could jump in to the water. Julien and the crew of Crazy Water are real professionals, but in for a laugh and a joke. A pity we could'n do the 'sport' descent, because of bad weather. But we sure come back. One remark; their 'bar' is quite empty, so make sure to bring your own drinks and food if you're planning to stay for a day.
would you see virginia
would you see virginia
2019-06-14
top

Rafting ubaye

Parcours Rafting sur l’Ubaye – Le Best-Of

Le parcours Best-Of est notre parcours le plus populaire de rafting en Ubaye. C'est un parcours de découverte et nous l'avons nommé ainsi parce qu'il représente tout ce que vous pouvez trouver de mieux sur la rivière de l'Ubaye. On vous dit tout ce qu'il faut savoir sur cette page !
Saut du rocher pendant la descente en rafting

La descente en Rafting sur l’Ubaye : le meilleur des parcours

La descente découverte est un parcours Rafting sur l’Ubaye particulièrement adaptée aux personnes qui souhaitent découvrir les sports d’eau-vive sur une rivière naturelle. Que vous soyez débutants ou avec de l’expérience, cette descente de Classe III & IV est pour tous les niveaux et fait le bonheur de tous !

C’est un parcours qui offre des paysages à couper le souffle, avec ses montagnes majestueuses, ses gorges étroites et ses eaux cristallines. C’est dans ce cadre exceptionnel que vous pourrez vivre une descente de Rafting dynamique, en découvrant les rapides et les paysages de la Vallée de Barcelonnette.

Pourquoi le Parcours « Best Of » ? Il s’agit du parcours découverte de l’Ubaye que nous aimons appeler Best Of car il représente tout ce que vous pouvez trouver de mieux sur la rivière de l’Ubaye : les rapides à franchir, les paysages, les gorges du Lauzet, les sauts de rochers et bien d’autres surprises !

Informations sur le Parcours Découverte de l’Ubaye

Du village du Martinet jusqu’au Lauzet, vous découvrez la puissance de la rivière avec un moniteur de Rafting (guide) diplômé. C’est un parcours unique dans lequel vous nagez dans une eau rafraîchissante et vous flirtez avec les rochers, ce qui rend la descente vraiment amusante.

Pendant 9 Km (1h30 de navigation), vous appréciez le cadre magnifique de la vallée, ainsi que tous ses rapides (classe III à IV). Des arrêts sont prévus durant le parcours : nage en rivière, découverte de la cascade et sauts de rocher.

Rires, plaisirs et sensations garantis !

Descente en rafting à Barcelonnette

Le parcours Best-Of en images

Que faut-il prévoir pour le parcours Rafting sur l’Ubaye ?

Nous organisons l’intégralité de l’activité : navette d’accès et de retour à la rivière, accompagnement du guide et l’équipement complet de Rafting. Vous devez simplement prévoir votre maillot de bain et votre serviette. Si vous possédez des chaussures d’eau ou autres chaussures de sports, c’est bien de les prendre, sinon nous pouvons vous en prêter. Les caméras de type Go Pro sont autorisées, mais à vos risques et périls… le parcours est très mouvementé. Nous avons des accroches Go Pro sur certains de nos casques si vous désirez les utiliser. Pensez aux chouchous pour les cheveux longs !

Le reste de vos effets personnels resterons à la base de Crazy Water ou dans vos véhicules.

Ce qu’il faut savoir pour l’activité rafting sur l’Ubaye

Bienvenue à notre base d’eau vive

Le rendez-vous se fait sur notre base à Crazy Water au village du Lauzet-Ubaye 04340, à l’horaire réservé au préalable. Vous pourrez vous garer sur le parking du haut pour les véhicules normaux et le parking du bas pour les gros véhicules (au bord de la D 900).

Vous êtes en avance ? Profitez de notre eco-base accueillante, des hamacs, des salons d’extérieurs et laissez-nous vous offrir un café à notre Crazy buvette !

Une fois passé à l’accueil, l’équipe Crazy Water vous donne une combinaison néoprène, à votre taille, et le reste du matériel : gilet, casque etc … Équipés des pieds à la tête, nous prenons ensuite le mini-bus jusqu’au départ du parcours de raft.

Partez à l’aventure sur l’Ubaye en Rafting

Après un briefing explicatif de votre guide de rivière, c’est alors que l’activité commence.

Au programme : 1h30 de descente de rivière sensationnelle, de navigation sur le Raft avec les pagaies, d’éclaboussures et de rigolade. Durant la descente découverte, pour profiter au maximum de votre expérience en eau -ive, nous organisons des stops au bord de la rivière, dans cette nature sauvage : activité nage dans la rivière, balade à la cascade et sauts de rocher. Tout cela, encadré par votre guide de rivière, spécialiste de l’Ubaye. Il saura vous faire passer un moment magique, avec des sensations incroyables, tout en étant en parfaite sécurité sur la rivière.

Le bouquet final de cette descente : les gorges étroites et profondes du Lauzet, sous le Pont Romain, site historique de la vallée de Barcelonnette. À vivre absolument !

Bravo les Rafteurs !

À l’arrivée du parcours au village du Lauzet, le mini-bus vous récupère et vous ramène à la base de Crazy Water (5 minutes de trajet). On peut enfin se mettre au sec et récupérer vos affaires.

Avant de partir, vous pourrez visionner les photos prises par un photographe professionnel, durant la descente. Il est possible de les acheter et de repartir avec un dossier photos de toute l’activité.

Une mini buvette est à votre disposition, pour débriefer, après cette belle aventure rafting ! Vous pourrez profiter de notre éco-base Crazy Water et vous détendre dans les hamacs ou les petits salons extérieurs. Au village du Lauzet, vous pourrez vous restaurer dans les différents restaurants et snacks, et vous baigner dans le magnifique petit lac du Lauzet. C’est un endroit parfait pour finir la journée en beauté !

Pourquoi choisir l’Ubaye pour faire du Rafting ?

L’Ubaye est réputée pour être le meilleur spot de Rafting en France, avec ses paysages sauvages et ses parcours de difficultés variées (de la classe II à la classe V). Que vous soyez débutant ou confirmé, vous trouverez des parcours adaptés à votre niveau et à vos envies. Il est rare de trouver une destination d’eau vive aussi dynamique, avec des paysages variés à couper le souffle. C’est pourquoi l’Ubaye est une rivière mythique pour tous les passionnés d’eau-vive. Nous organisons des stages d’eau-vive pour profiter des différents parcours qu’offre l’Ubaye et des différentes embarcations tels que l’Hydrospeed et le Kayak Air Boat.

Le parcours Best Of découverte reste l’immanquable de l’Ubaye, à faire absolument !

Quand peut on pratiquer le parcours Rafting Découverte ?

Cette rivière à débit naturel, permet de faire des descentes en eau-vive tous les jours, de début avril à début octobre. C’est une terrain de jeux incroyable que nous aimons partager avec les visiteurs.

Les niveaux d’eaux changent énormément entre le printemps et l’été avec les crues de la rivière, mais nous arrivons toujours à vous proposer un parcours adapté à votre demande, que vous soyez une famille, des débutants ou des sportifs. Si vous désirez comprendre les variations de la rivière et les différents niveaux de parcours, vous trouverez toutes les réponses sur notre site internet, sur la page Niveau d’eau. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter par téléphone, nous sommes joignables très facilement, tous les jours de l’année.

Caroline Aalbers
Caroline Aalbers
2023-07-29
Wat een geweldige ervaring, raften over de Ubaye! Prachtige natuur, mooie afwisselende tocht (inclusief zwemmen en in het water springen!) en geschikt voor elk niveau. Onze kinderen (6 en 9 jaar) hebben een super eerste raft ervaring gehad, mede dankzij onze leuke en goede gids. Ze willen zeker nog een keer :-)
Ziga Budja
Ziga Budja
2023-07-12
Wonderfull family rafting experience. Just a little bit too much for my sensitive eight year old, but great overall. The river is beautiful with nice surroundings. The guide was excellent (forgot his name 🙄) and the whole team was very nice. The trip down the river took about one and a half hour with some stops. If you visit this place, your're not gonna be sorry! 👍🏻
Fred
Fred
2023-05-13
Un lieu calme et agréable, accueillit par une équipe sympathique. Mise à disposition du barbecue pour le repas du midi avant le rafting. Tout est là pour votre bonheur.
Jerome Henry
Jerome Henry
2022-08-16
Merci @CrazyWaterRafting pour les moments géniaux en famille. Nous avons fait rafting, rando aquatique et kayak avec 2 adultes et 2 ados : génial !! Guides super sympa, très pro, Contrairement à ce que l'on entend a la télé, le niveau d'eau dans cette rivière et plus que suffisant pour s'éclater ! Nb: la rando aquatique n'est pas très connue mais super aussi, descente de la rivière en nageant, dans un secteur plus calme que celui pour le rafting. Explication sur la nature, superbe paysages, surprise à la fin... Encore merci. Jérôme, Caroline, Charlotte et Manon.
Shameer Habibi
Shameer Habibi
2021-07-29
Really fun, and a really good guide! Overall amazing
Melanie Macias
Melanie Macias
2020-06-06
Top top top
Lorenzo Van Loon
Lorenzo Van Loon
2019-08-02
We did two descents, one by raft and one by kayak, both with Julien as a guide. He seems totally crazy when you first meet him, but he was a great guide and made our day. Really spectacular river, with a lot of rapids and great views. We got out of the boats to swim a bit in one of the rapids and they took us to a rock where we could jump in to the water. Julien and the crew of Crazy Water are real professionals, but in for a laugh and a joke. A pity we could'n do the 'sport' descent, because of bad weather. But we sure come back. One remark; their 'bar' is quite empty, so make sure to bring your own drinks and food if you're planning to stay for a day.
verriez virginie
verriez virginie
2019-06-14
Top